Quote #3

Terrier

by Tamora Pierce

Diona went to slap him. I realized that after I’d moved, coming off the ground to
grab her wrist as I rose. I held on to her as I stood between them. “You’re not my
lady,” I told her, keeping my voice down so no one else might hear if they were
close by. “You don’t go slapping people’s faces. Shame on you!”

“She don’t mean nothin’, Beka, don’t hurt her.” Nilo sounded like he might cry in a
moment.

I let Diona go and hugged him. “I didn’t hurt her. I remember who I’m dealing
with, even if she don’t.”


Page 242

 

Leave a Reply

